Home > #quest2017 > I’m Fine, Thanks

I’m Fine, Thanks

Yesterday I watched a documentary which detailed exactly where I’m at right now. A filmmaker from Ohio traveled across the US with four others in a van talking to people who left straight jobs, left security, and followed their passions. Starting yoga studios, workout communities, barefoot water skiing, sustainable food and cleaning tips, staying home with their toddlers, writing positive thinking blogs, or otherwise reorganizing around spending more time with their families and doing work aligned with their true calling. One of the people he interviewed tells us How to Be Legendary. The movie is: I’m Fine, Thanks.

Today’s Tracking Wonder Quest prompt – Dacher Keltner, Ph.D., is the founding director of the Greater Good Science Center and a professor of psychology at the University of California, Berkeley. He asks: In your work life, your personal life, and in your community, how will you use power as a force for good, and empower those around you in specific acts that make up your day? #PowerforGood

I use my power as a source for good by providing a home for myself, one other adult, and two dogs. I’m here if more humans need a safe space. I provide a safe space. I provide order. I’m not the most witty off-the-wall fun person to be around, but I can find a fire extinguisher. And after I destroyed one oven spraying it with a fire extinguisher, I have baking soda too. Cooking, yes, there is food. Lots and lots of food. I save up for college for my goddaughter. I advocate in small personal ways for wages, health, security, happiness for others.

Yes, I want to do more – specifically building a sustainable urban homestead, volunteering time at local schools or food banks. But for now, I’m happy with what I do to use my powers to create order and harmony in the world.

 

Categories: #quest2017
  1. No comments yet.
  1. No trackbacks yet.

Leave a comment